• By Todd Luck
  • Posted Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Forsyth County Commissioners Honor Current, Former Employees

Forsyth County commissioners honored county employees and retirees at a luncheon last week at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center.

It’s the 46th year the Forsyth County Service Awards have been held. This year, the awards honored 115 employees and 57 retirees with a combined 2,954 years of service to the citizens of Forsyth County. Commissioners personally shook the hands of each recipient who attended, who then received their award from Human Resources staff, who organized the event.

“Your service means a lot to all of us,” said County Manager Dudley Watts. “We impact lives, that’s what we do, and for that to work well, we have to provide a high level of service.”

Photos from the event can be found on the Forsyth County Facebook page by clicking here and here.

Employees with more than 10 years of service were honored with certificates signed by the commissioners. There were 12 employees who earned the 30 year award, 43 employees with 20 years and 60 employees with 10 years.

Retirees received a Certificate of Appreciation from the county commissioners. Those with up to 20 years of service also received a Certificate of Appreciation from the governor. Those with 20 to 29 years of service received the Old North State Award from the governor. Those with 30 or more years received the Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award, one of the most prestigious awards conferred by the governor for exemplary service to the state.

The retirees that received the Long Leaf Pine award were former County Attorney Davida Martin, Robert Ragland (Environmental Assistance and Protection), William Durham (Library) and Edward Cooley and Gary Key (General Services).

Retirees that received the Old North State Award were:

Board of Elections: Tunya Mayfield

Emergency Services: Darian Brown, Christopher Davis, Michael King, Daren Ziglar

General Services: Timothy Cranfill, Michael Randolph

Library: Donald Dwiggins

Public Health: Sandra Clodfelter, David Foster Caren, Jenkins Brock, Turner Sheriff, Linda Lacy, Lonnie Lemons, Barry Sales, George Salmons, Priscilla Trentham, Linda Wilson

Social Services: George Baird, Amy Baker, Carolyn Covington, Jeanette Eaddy–McSwain, Kathryn Lawson, Robin Macklin, Tanya McDougal, Ernestine Mitchell, Janifer Southerland, Shirelle Stewart-Riddick, Cynthia Tomlinson, Wyomie Watson

The other award recipients were:

Certificates of Appreciation

Animal Control: Charlotte Compton, Michael Fitzpatrick
Commissioners and Managers Office: Carla Holt
Finance: Linda Bowles
General Services: Charlie Glenn
MIS: Stephen Cooper
Parks and Recreation: Stephen Cecil, Ronald Cowan, John Walker, Theresa Webb, Barry Zimmerman
Public Health: Donna Lane, Norma White
Register of Deeds: Randy Smith
Sheriff: Kenneth Hickman, Holly Holden, Pamelia Howell, William Schatzman
Social Services: Sheila Fowler, Sandra Kochy, Carolyn Sutton, Diane Wimmer

30 Years of Service

Attorney’s Office: Patrica Griffin, Davida Martin
Environmental Assistance and Protection: Michael Settle
General Services: Glenn Williams
Community and Economic Development: Daniel Kornelis
Parks and Recreation: Michael Anderson
Public Health: Lisa Cheek, Sheryl Emory, Elena Lopez, Susan Rife
Social Services: Annie Braddy, Okeather Connelly

20 Years of Service

Attorneys Office: Gloria Woods
Emergency Services: Robert Fritts, Mark Harris, Paul Kildoo
Environmental Assistance and Protection: Jason Bodenhamer, Cary Genry
Finance: Bonita Gray
General Services: Brian Cain, Dianne Mitchell, Timothy Russ
Library: Lashundra Goodwin, Lara Luck, Natalia Tuchina
MIS: Melissa Cameron, Jeffrey Walker
MapForsyth: Gloria Alford
Parks and Recreation: Ricky Lunsford, Debra Smith
Public Health: Janet English, Melinda Hull, Kenneth Lyons, Janice Payne, Lee Stimpson
Sheriff: Kichas Adams, Robin Bennett, William Birch, Mark Bruce, Colleen Gambrell, Dionne Parker, Timothy Senter, Patrick Stump, Kristy Tuttle
Social Services: Willa Davis, Tammy Douthit, Amy Everhart, Andrea Gottfried, Paula Graves, Anita Hammonds, Stephanie Hanes, Deborah Lybrand, Susan Sebastian, Reyna Smith, Wyomie Watson

10 Years of Service

Animal Control: Michael Fitzpatrick
Budget and Management: Andrea Williams
Emergency Services: Mary Collins, Andrew Davis, Andrew Harris, Matthew Motsinger, Christopher Nichols, Mark Propst
Finance: Patricia Martin, Lee Plunkett
General Services: Andrew Blakley. Kevin Rogers, William Sellers
Library: Gloria Cain, Raegen Luntz, Denise Wingfield, Carolyn Woods
MIS: Patrick Phaup
MapForsyth: Brian Tuttle
Parks and Recreation: Floyd Davis, Aaron Greene
Public Health: Jessica Blackburn, Bronia Carpio, Glenda Dancy, Michelle Metscher, Sherri Palmes, Angela Thomas
Sheriff: Joshua Beamer, Steven Bennett, Jody Chatham, Chris Dean, Sylvia Fisher, Terry Gunter, Jason Leonard, Terry Peddycord, Jr, William Reynolds, Joseph Sigman, Todd Simpson, Steven Starling, Terri Tysinger, Allison Warren, Timothy Wilks, Duane Wilson
Social Services: Kaye Adams, Sallie Bailey, Melissa Bell, Noelia Bello-Sanchez, Susan Brooks Moore, Veronica De Los Cobos, Sheila Fowler, Miesha Garner, Tiffiany Lamarque, Jasmine Linville, Michelle Lloyd, Myrlena Palacios, Amanda Pruitt, Alberta Simmons, Cherise Taylor, Amelia Watkins
Tax: Margaret Banks

Work with Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List