Back to List

Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC), Winston-Salem/Forsyth County


The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) serves as a forum for cooperative transportation planning and decision-making for the Metropolitan Planning Organization. The TAC is responsible for assisting in the dissemination and clarification of decisions, inclinations and policies of the governing boards, ensuring meaningful citizen participation in the transportation planning process, and keeping the governing boards informed of the status and requirements of the transportation planning process.

Members and Non-Voting Staff Person(s)

The N.C. Board to Transportation and any unit of government that is a party to the Memorandum of Understanding may appoint an alternate member to serve in the absence of a regular member, with said alternate being an elected official of that unit of government. By majority vote, the Committee may select a member to act as chairperson for a one-year term. The Transportation Planning Coordinator of the City-County Planning Board staff shall serve as Secretary to the Committee.

Currently Serving

NameTitleTerm Expires
Ms. Denise Adams
Mr. Jake Alexander
Mr. Dan Besse Vice-Chair
Ms. Margaret Bessette TAC Secretary
Mr. Robert C Clark
Mr. Michael L Combest
Mr. C. Thomas Griggs
Honorable Michael L Horn
Mr. Allen Joines
Mr. Arnold G King
Mr. Myron W Marion
Ms. Toneq' McCullough
Mr. Billy W McHone
Mr. Thomas F McKim
Mr. Randy Mendenhall
Mr. Derwin L Montgomery
Mr. Irving Neal
Hon. Brent S Rockett
Mr. Michael K Rogers
Ms. Tracey Shifflette
Ms. Regina Streed
Mr. John F Sullivan III
Vacant 1
Vacant 2
Vacant 3
Mr. Larry T Williams Chairman
Mr. Jeffrey A Zenger


Typically, the 3rd Thursday of most months - 4:15 p.m. -City Council Chambers, 5th floor, Bryce A. Stewart Municipal Building.

Other Information

Watch Live Streams on

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Come experience the Tanglewood stables!
Downloadable Audio - Get It Now