Back to List

Forsyth County Historic Resources Commission


The purpose of the Commission is to safeguard the heritage of the County, the City, the Towns, and the Village by preserving any district or landmark therein that embodies important elements of its culture, history, architectural history, or prehistory; and to promote the use and conservation of such district or landmark for the education, pleasure and enrichment of the residents of the city of county and the State as a whole.

Members and Non-Voting Staff Person(s)

The twelve member HRC consists of five appointed representatives from Forsyth County, which shall include representation from Bethania, Lewisville, Rural Hall, and Walkertown; five from the City of Winston-Salem, one from the Town of Kernersville, and one from the Village of Clemmons. Each newly appointed member serves a term of four years, and is eligible for re-appointment. Members are sought positions that specify various types of expertise, including architecture, design, planning, surveying, history, ownership of property in historic district or landmarks and at-large citizens.

Currently Serving

NameTitleTerm Expires
Edwin Bouldin 12/31/2025
Chad L Gadberry 6/30/2024
Emma K Haney 11/30/2023


The Commission meets the first Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. in the Public Meeting Room, Fifth Floor, City Hall South, 100 East First Street, Winston-Salem.

Other Information

More information on the HRC and its activities available on the Planning website, at

Watch Live Streams on

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Child abuse doesn't report itself.