Back to List

Community Child Protection Team/Child Fatality Prevention Team


In accordance with the Governor's Executive Order #142 and rules of the North Carolina Social Services Commission related thereto providing for the creation of a child protection team in each county, the Resolution Relating to the Forsyth County Community Child Protection Team was adopted on July 8, 1991 by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. The original purpose and composition of the team was further formalized and expanded by N.C.G.S. 7B-1406 (formerly N.C.G.S. 7A 143-576.1), effective July 1, 1993.
Blank Line
In November 1994, the Forsyth County Community Child Protection Team (CCPT) was chosen as a pilot county to begin functioning as a Child Facality Prevention Team (CFPT), encompassing the CCPT members and adding several others serving from various disciplines. The General Statutes governing the composition of the CFPT changed effective July 1, 1995 and Forsyth County's Child Protection Team decided to function as one (1) team, the Community Child Protection Team/Child Fatality Prevention Team (FC CCPT/CFPT).

Members and Non-Voting Staff Person(s)

According to N.C.G.S. 7B-1407, each Local Team shall consist of representatives of public and non-public agencies in the community that provide services to children and their families and other individuals who represent the community. Each Local Team shall consist of the following persons:

  1. 1. The Director of the County Department of Social Services and a member of the director's staff
  2. 2. Local law enforcement officer, appointed by the County Commissioners
  3. 3. Attorney from the District Attorney's office
  4. 4. Executive Director of the local community action agency, as defined by the Division of Economic Opportunity, Department of Human Resources, or executive director's designee
  5. 5. Superintendent of the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools or a designee
  6. 6. Member of the Forsyth County Board of Social Services, appointed by the Chairman of the Social Services Board
  7. 7. Mental Health Professional, appointed by the Director of the Mental Health Authority
  8. 8. Local Guardian Ad Litem Coordinator or a designee
  9. 9. Public Health Director
  10. 10. Local health care provider, appointed by the Board of Health
  11. 11. Emergency Medical Services provider or Firefighter, appointed by the Board of Commissioners
  12. 12. Forsyth County District Court Judge, appointed by the Chief District Court Judge
  13. 13. County Medical Examiner, appointed by the Chief Medical Examiner
  14. 14. Representative of a local day care facility or Head Start program, appointed by the Director of Social Services
  15. 15. Parent of a child who died before reaching the child's eighteenth birthday, appointed by the Board of Commissioners.

In accordance with the General Statutes, the County Commissioners may appoint a maximum of five (5) additional members to represent County Agencies or the Community at large to serve on the Team as adopted by Resolution on 8/28/95.

Members are appointed for three-year terms. There is no limit on the number of terms a member may serve. Terms of appointment are from July 1 to June 30.

Currently Serving

NameTitleTerm Expires
Mr. Thomas B Bowman 6/30/2020
Mr. Walton M Cooper 6/30/2020
Mr. Bryan E Gallimore 6/30/2020
Dr. Meggan L Goodpasture 6/30/2020
Mr. Victor R Isler Social Services Director
Ms. Caren Jenkins 6/30/2020
Asst Chief Robert S Owens 6/30/2020
Ms. Mary D Showalter 6/30/2022
Mr Joshua R Swift Staff 6/30/2020
Mr. Michael S York 6/30/2020


4th Wednesday of each quarter, 8:15 a.m., in the Boardroom, Forsyth County Public Health located at 799 Highland Avenue, Winston-Salem, NC and convened by the FC CCPT/CFPT Chair, Mr. Marlon Hunter.

Other Information

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Come experience the Tanglewood stables!
Don't Turn Your Back on Adult Abuse!