• By Nicole Harterink
  • Posted Monday, September 18, 2023

Forsyth County Public Library Branches Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month honors the achievements, contributions, culture, and history of Hispanic and Latin American people. Several Forsyth County Public Library branches are hosting events for adults, teens, and entire families through Oct. 15. All are welcome!

Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) with the Lam Museum of Anthropology

Wednesday, Sept. 20 at 6 p.m.
Reynolda Manor Branch 2839 Fairlawn Drive NW
Día de los Muertos, or Day of the Dead, is a Latin American celebration of life and death. Join the Lam Museum of Anthropology for a discussion on the origins of this tradition, the significance of objects, variations found across Latin America, and the tradition’s inclusion in pop culture.

Hispanic Heritage Month Festival

Saturday, Sept. 23 from 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Southside Branch 3185 Buchanan St.
All ages are welcome to come learn about Hispanic culture through activities, games, storytimes and overall fun!

Hispanic Heritage Masks with the Lam Museum of Anthropology
Tuesday, Sept. 26 from 5:30-6:30 p.m.
Central Library Auditorium 660 W. Fifth St.
People ages 15 and up will learn about the history and culture behind Hispanic mask making and create their own masks out of various materials. Registration required. Email darlinvk@forsyth.cc to register.

Tinwork with the Lam Museum of Anthropology
Thursday, Oct. 12 from 5-6 p.m.
Central Library Teen Central 660 W. Fifth St.
Children from 9-18 are invited to learn about Mexican tinwork, view examples from the museum's collection, and make their own to keep.

County Services

Spay, Neuter, Adopt and Love
New Mobile Apps via the Library!

Contact Us

336-703-BOOK (2665)
Email: Contact Us
Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Holiday Closings
Monday, January 1 - New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
Friday, March 29 - Good Friday
Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 - Independence Day
Monday, September 2 - Labor Day
Monday, November 11 - Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 28 - Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29 - Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 24 - Christmas holiday begins
Wednesday, December 25 - Christmas
Thursday, December 26 - Christmas